Addis Abeba, Building Site

Urban Development Made in China
Alter historischer Platz in Addis Abeba - Meskel Square, Addis Ababa
Alter historischer Platz in Addis Abeba - Meskel Square, Addis Ababa

Our destination today is Addis Abeba. In the Ethiopian capital, we are shooting a film on Michael Sallat. Originally from Leipzig, Germany, he is currently based in Addis to support the municipal partnership between the two cities with his expertise.

First of all, we’re off to the ministry of communication where we have to fetch our permission to film. On our way, we try to get a first impression of the city. Addis appears to be one single, large building site – there are half-finished buildings, scaffolding and cranes just about everywhere. Our guide and interpreter Amsalu tells us that many of these sites were abandoned long time ago. Crisis-ridden Ethiopia has been in a state of emergency for eighteen months; many projects have run out of money. In addition to the country’s foreign exchange shortage, corruption lets large sums of money disappear.

Building site

Some building sites, however, are bustling with workers. Those are the projects of Chinese investors. In Addis, they are implementing project after project – mostly major projects. Amsalu tells us that Chinese engineers, architects, and craftsmen come to work in Ethiopia for these projects.

Permission received

After we received our permission to film – diligently listing every place where we intend to film – we are ready to go. Our first stop is Mount Entoto. We are 700 m above the city, 3,000 m above sea level. The view over Addis is breathtaking.

View over the city

We are filming on the edge of a forest, where we meet several women. They all are carrying enormous bundles of wood on their backs – firewood for cooking.

Wood carrier at Mount Entoto

From Mount Entoto we go back to the city center, to the Mercato of Addis – one of the largest markets in Africa. On our quest for footage, we pass the city’s brand new metro. And guess who built it? Of course – China!

Mercato
Metro

Großbaustelle Addis Abeba

Stadtentwicklung made in China
Alter historischer Platz in Addis Abeba - Meskel Square, Addis Ababa
Alter historischer Platz in Addis Abeba - Meskel Square, Addis Ababa

Unser aktuelles Reiseziel heißt Addis Abeba. In der äthiopischen Hauptstadt drehen wir einen Film über den Leipziger Michael Sallat, der hier als Experte für die kommunale Partnerschaft zwischen Addis und Leipzig arbeitet.

Unser erster Weg führt uns ins Kommunikationsministerium, wo wir unsere Drehgenehmigung abholen müssen. Auf der Fahrt verschaffen wir uns einen ersten Überblick über die Stadt. Addis wirkt wie eine einzige Baustelle – überall sehen wir halbfertige Gebäude, Gerüste und Kräne. Amsalu, unser Guide und Dolmetscher, erzählt uns, dass etliche Baustellen schon lange stillstehen. In dem krisengeschüttelten Land herrscht seit eineinhalb Jahren fast ununterbrochen der Ausnahmezustand, vielen Bauvorhaben ist das Geld ausgegangen. Es fehlen Devisen, und die Korruption lässt große Geldsummen versickern.

Großbaustelle

Es gibt aber auch Baustellen, auf denen reges Treiben herrscht. Das sind jene Projekte, an denen chinesische Investoren beteiligt sind. Sie setzen in Addis ein Großvorhaben nach dem anderen um. Dafür werden nicht nur Ingenieure und Architekten, sondern auch Handwerker aus China eingeflogen, erklärt uns Amsalu.

Genehmigung erteilt

Nachdem wir unsere Drehgenehmigung erhalten haben – dazu mussten wir im Detail angeben, wo wir überall drehen wollen – kann es endlich losgehen. Für die ersten Aufnahmen fahren wir auf den Entoto-Berg. Wir befinden uns 700 Meter über der Stadt, 3.000 Meter über dem Meeresspiegel. Die Aussicht über Addis ist unglaublich!

Blick auf die Stadt

Aus einem Wald, an dessen Rande wir drehen, kommen uns mehrere Frauen entgegen. Sie alle tragen riesige Holzbündel auf dem Rücken – Brennholz zum Kochen.

Holzträgerin auf dem Entoto

Danach fahren wir zurück ins Zentrum, auf den Mercato von Addis, einen der größten Märkte Afrikas. Auf unserer Suche nach Schnittbildern kommen wir auch an der brandneuen Metro der Stadt vorbei. Gebaut von wem? Na klar – China!

Der Mercato
Die Metro